Article about the history of the University of Scranton by Dr. Frank X. J. Homer '64. This article served as the fifth and final installment of a series of preprints from The University of Scranton: A Centennial History.
Photograph of Martin Hall (left) and Fitch Hall (right) in the lower quad on the University of Scranton campus, taken shortly after their 1958 construction. In the background, the E Building and B Building barracks may be seen along Linden Street.
Black and white photograph of the University of Scranton's lower quad of dormitories. McCourt Hall is in the front, with Fitch, Martin, and Casey Halls behind it. The Long Center, St. Thomas Hall, and parts of the Scranton skyline are visible.
Black and white photograph (undated) of residence halls along Linden Street at the corner of Clay Avenue prior to the construction of the University Commons and the Royal Way. From left to right, Fitch Hall, Martin Hall, and Casey Hall (lower...
Photograph (dated ca. 1961) of the University of Scranton's lower quad of dormitories, which were built in 1958. Fitch Hall is at center and McCourt Hall is at right. Martin Hall is in the background on the left.
Photograph (undated) of the sculpture of St. Ignatius (also called Metanoia) on the campus of the University of Scranton. In the background of the photograph is the lower quad, with Fitch Hall directly behind the sculpture.
Photograph of the University of Scranton's lower quad of dormitories, including McCourt, Fitch, Martin, and Casey Halls. The Long Center, St. Thomas Hall, and parts of the Scranton skyline are visible.
Draft of a book on the history of the University of Scranton, written by Frank Homer, Professor Emeritus of History at the University who was also a graduate of the University's class of 1964 and is considered the University's historian.
Photograph (ca. 1957) of the University of Scranton's first student residences (Martin, McCourt, and Fitch Halls), located on the 300 block of Quincy Avenue. The three houses, purchased in May 1955, served as student residences until 1958 when the...